Home » Uncategorized » Far From Normal, Daily Prompt, “Pieces of Me”

Far From Normal, Daily Prompt, “Pieces of Me”

Many of us think of our lives as boringly normal, while others live the high life. Take a step back, and take a look at your life as an outsider might. Now, tell us at least six unique, exciting, or just plain odd things about yourself.Image

Pieces of me, and you want 6.  I will try to keep it interesting, however I suspect I will not need to ry hard.

1.  I am an addict in recovery, 12 years clean and sober, I love both AA & NA, I do not care what others think about that.  I work a 12 Step lifestyle, and try to practice all those principles in my affairs.The 12 Steps we derived from AA and “adopted” by NA, and NA states its gratitude.  I am also a healing adult child.  Amen.

2.  I am a mother of two beautiful, wonderful young ladies 17 and 12, by no means perfect, but by all means loving.  They are my heart and soul.

3.  I am married for the third time, to the most wonderful man, I often question how he tolerates me and loves me the way he does….Unselfishly.

4.  I am a full-time Human Services Transfer student, I love school!

5.  I am a cheer mom, my girls are talented competitive cheerleaders (not sideline cheerleaders-huge difference), and they travel and train more than most athletes.  We travel from January-April all over the US attending competitions that have good enough competitiors to compete with.

6.  I am Dual-Diagnosis, so not only am I am addict, I also suffer additional mental illness.  As busy as my life my be, and as much as I smile and try to stay positive, somedays are very hard just to get out of bed.

 

I find none of those things very exciting, but to some of the women I know, one of those things alone is an exciting and dramatic story in itself.  More importantly, I am really the following 6 things.

1.  I love to hug my children which was tough since I had to train myself to hug.

2.  Most people don’t know my story and are quick to judge, I chuckle, I am wise beyond my time, far beyond.

3.  I never let rejection, adolescent violation, spousal abuse, or any other mishap that I did not deserve, allow me to victimize myself.  

4.  When I was a kid, I prayed to be kidnapped, even it meant being raped and murdered, just to feel relief from my own hell.

5.  I do believe that I fight on a daily basis to ry and not peretuate my mental problems onto my kids.

6.  Crying is very difficult for me, I prefer to smile and move on, no matter what. 

Leave a Reply

