Home » Daily Post » Daily Prompt: The Clock

Daily Prompt: The Clock

Daily Prompt: The Clock

Write about anything you’d like. Somewhere in your post, include the sentence, “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.”

During the winter, my husbands construction company gears up the trucks with plows and supplements their income by sanding and plowing for the local towns.  I am very used to spending the time during snowy weather with my girls, bundled up at home.  I miss my husband terribly when he is out during ungodly hours in tretcherous weather for late night hours on end.  If I can and there is no “stay home” warnings, I like to bring him some soup, or food of some sort during his long cold night.

This most recent storm, Nemo; I was geared up to be on lock-down at home for a few days.  The storm was severe enough that no one was leaving home until he came home and plowed our own driveway.  Just in case he did stop in for food or warmth, I had laid a warm towel and his jammies close to the fireplace so they would be warm when he came home.  I also slept on the couch so I could hear him come in and serve him, baby him a little.  I would stay up as late as I could doing homework or blogging until eventually I would fall asleep right there on the couch.

For three nights in a row I did this, and soon enough, I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.  Yes, it was morning and he was home, I sprung from the couch and ran to the door to see if it was him.  It most certainly was him, he was plugging in the diesel truck motor block to keep it from freezing over night.

Just seeing his face after that much time away made me fall in love all over again.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Clock

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock « MythRider

Leave a Reply

